COVID-19 - temporary restriction of non-essential entry into the EU extended until 30 June 2020

Hands wearing disposable gloves holding up coronavirus sign against a blue background

COVID-19 / coronavirus, © Colourbox

18.06.2020 - Article

COVID-19 - temporary restriction of non-essential entry into the EU extended until 30 June 2020

In order to prevent the further spread of COVID-19, the European Commission has recommended that the travel restrictions already in place for all non-essential travel to the EU from third countries be extended until 30 June 2020. Germany will implement this recommendation.

The following persons shall continue to be exempt from these travel restrictions:

  1. Nationals from EU countries, countries associated with Schengen (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland), the UK, and their respective family members returning to their place of residence
  2. Third-country nationals with a long-term right of residence in an EU Member State and/or the countries mentioned above (residence permit or long-term visa, e.g. for study or work purposes), provided that they are returning to their place of habitual residence
  3. Third-country nationals with essential functions or needs, including:
  • healthcare workers, health researchers and care professionals
  • cross-border workers, transport personnel employed in the movement of goods and other essential sectors
  • diplomats, staff of international organisations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers insofar as they are performing official duties
  • passengers in transit
  • passengers travelling for imperative family reasons
  • persons in need of international protection or seeking entry for other humanitarian reasons.

The European Commission has proposed further exceptions to the EU entry restrictions for the period from 1 July. However, these proposals by the European Commission must first be implemented by the member states before they apply.

European Commission press release of 11 June 2020

Communication from the Commission of 16 March 2020

More information on travel within the EU:

On 10 June 2020, the Federal Government decided to end the internal border controls with Austria, Switzerland, France, Italy and Denmark, which had been temporarily reintroduced due to the pandemic, as of 15 June 2020. Airside internal border controls with Spain will cease on 20 June 2020.

This means that, from 16 June 2020 or (in the case of Spain) from 21 June 2020, a valid reason for entry is no longer required for entry into Germany from the above-mentioned countries.

Border controls at the border with Luxembourg ceased on 15 May 2020.

Quarantine regulations for people entering or returning to Germany: 

The Federation and the Länder have agreed on the main aspects of uniform quarantine regulations for people entering or returning to Germany. Further information, the model ordinance and links are available on the websites of the Federal Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community. For information on the concrete implementation of the measures in the various Länder, please see the websites of the Land Ministries of Health.

Top of page